Honeyed Cake

I have been baking for a long time, since I was a kid actually but today I decided to make my signature cake a little differently. I substituted honey in place of sugar. And I didn’t stick so strictly to the recipe as I usually do, instead went for it in a very hotchpotch Nigella Lawson way. Made all sorts of garnish to make it look pretty and here is the result.

If anyone is interested in the recipe here goes  

1 cup + 2 tablespoons Maida

1 cup of Honey( a little less actually)

1 cup + 2 tablespoons Butter( room temperature or won’t cream if taken directly from the fridge)

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon vanilla essence

2 eggs (separated yolks and whites)

Whisk egg whites first. (At the speed 1 of hand blender for 1 min and then 30 secs on speed 2)

Mix the butter and honey together in a dry bowl. Don’t whisk too much or you will get bubbles.

Mix in the egg yolks n whisk.

Mix in the egg whites.

Fold in the Maida n baking powder.

Add vanilla essence.

Pour into greased cake tin and place in preheated oven at 160 degrees C for 35 -40 mins. ( This I did because the one article I got on substituting honey for sugar said honey browns faster and therefore keep temperature lower by 25 degrees; I assume Farenheit as is the American norm, for baking dishes)

Check with tooth pick if the cake is cooked. If it is, a toothpick inserted in the centre of the cake comes out clean. If not, batter will stick to it.

For chocolate topping I wanted to make chocolate  ganache but obviously I did not have the ingredients. So I just melted some butter, put in some small pieces of bitter chocolate (about a 100 grams) poured it over my cooled cake. Leveled it with a bread knife due to unavailability of steel spatula and ended up getting a nice swirly design on top.

Sprinkled some blanched roasted almonds on top.

Added the minute chocolate curls I had made from the whole slab of chocolate on the edges. Just scrape with a potato peeler. Mine was obviously a very small one. If the peeler has a long slit you may actually get long curls. And of course practice is another point. The chocolate curls are very delicate and highly sensitive to temperature therefore wait for the topping to be cool or else they will instantly melt. As also on contact with your fingers.

Remember, the taste of honey gives a tangy/acidic sweetness which may need some getting used to.

Tips

Prepare decorations like the chocolate curls n roated almonds before you begin the cake.

Always pre-heat oven

Donot keep the batter lying around. Bake immediately.

Line up ingredients in order of use before starting. ( You will be surprised how many times I forgot vanilla essence)

Leave a Reply

