Malvika’s list of must Reads

So, a very dear friend of mine asked if I could suggest a few books for her to read. I have been trying to make a list of 20 top books I like and would suggest to someone else; unfortunately I am at a complete loss since 20 seems such an inadequate number. So, I have decided to categorize them.

1.) Classics : These were some of the first books I ever read and I keep going back to them all the time.

Huckelberry Finn by Mark Twain. I prefer Huckelberry to Tom because I read that one first and I loved the illustrations in the little children’s classic I had, which I still have actually.

 

 

 

 

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte. It really is the original love story of the modern times.

 

 

 

 

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. The sequels Good Wives and Little Men were good too. There was a televised series on Hallmark channel that I thought was great too.

 

 

 

 

 

Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, Persuasion, Northanger Abbey, Mansfield Park by Jane Austen. I never liked Emma. She gets on my nerves.

 

 

 

 

 

Great Expectations, Dombey and Son, Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2.) Series :

Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling. These books of mine are almost in tatters. I read them almost every few months just to feel good about the world.

 

 

 

 

All things .. series by James Herriot. A veterinarian writes about experiences which are hilarious and resound with so much truth with a vet who has worked in the people.

 

 

 

William Brown series by Richmal Crompton.

 

 

 

 

 

Madeline Brent’s series of romance novels.

 

 

 

 

 

Hercule Poirot by Agatha Christie.

 

 

 

 

 

Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle.

 

 

 

 

 

Astreix and Obelix 

 

 

 

 

 

Anything at all by P. G. Wodehouse.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3.) Novella’s :

Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell. I even liked the sequel Scarlett by Alexandra Ripley.

 

 

 

 

Thornbirds by Collen McCollough.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. It is disturbing and yet becomes seared in your mind for days to come. I am unable to read it a second time because it takes courage to pick it up again.

 

 

 

 

The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd. It is a touching girly novel.

 

 

 

 

One flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kessy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee. I picked up this book after seeing it in every best book list ever. I never really expected to like it as much as I did.

 

 

 

 

The Power of One by Bryce Courtenay. Its a novel set in South Africa and a great read.

 

 

 

 

 

Pelican Brief, A Painted House by John Grisham. These are the two best books by the author I feel.

 

 

 

 

 

Doctors, The Class by Erich Segal. I didn’t like Love Story. Weird but true. I loved Doctors.

 

 

 

 

 

Corelli’s Mandolin by Louis de Bernières. I just liked the book better than the movie, though Penelope Cruz was just right for it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4.) Indian Authors :

The Hungry Tide, the Glass Palace by Amitav Ghosh. Extraordinary novels both. Loved Sea of Poppies too. Waiting for the other four novels to become a little cheaper.

 

 

 

Autobiography Of Jim CorbettOmnibus. Read it for the first time when I was in Binnaguri. Bought it now and read it again and loved it again.

 

 

 

 

Godan by Munshi Premchand. Heartrending and with a resonance in today’s India too.

 

 

 

 

A Suitable Boy by Vikram Seth. A mammoth saga of the Indian culture.

 

 

 

 

 

Maximum City by Suketu Mehta. A novel about Bombay. Very well written.

 

 

 

 

Five Point Someone by Chetan Bhagat. The progressive novels started becoming more and more like a bollywood movie.

 

 

 

 

 

 

5.) Short Stories :

To Cut a Long Story Short, Twelve Red Herrings, A Quiver Full of Arrows, Cat O’ nine Tales, And Thereby Hangs a Tale by Jefferey Archer. All of them are way ahead of his novels anyday.

 

 

 

Short Stories by O. Henry.

 

 

 

 

 

TheVeteran, No Comebacks by Federick Forsyth.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

