Baking on Mother’s Day

Baking will always remind me of Ma. That beautiful aroma floating around the whole house on a sunny Sunday morning makes me feel like a kid again. It is just such a happy fragrance. It reminds you of birthdays with cakes in different shapes, Dad putting up streamers, Mum making all those lovely snacks and of course, Presents!!

So, I tried my hand at ‘zebra cake’ from AZ cookbook. The cake tasted lovely only, instead of a zebra cake I ended up with Volcano Mountain cake. I think that was cute too. You can get the recipe from http://www.azcookbook.com/zebra-cake/ where I saw it from and then look at all that I did wrong here and avoid the same mistakes. Her cake looks beautiful.

Ingredients :

1 cup milk

1 cup oil ( I cheated and used only 3/4th cup in the interest of health)

1cup granulated sugar

2 cups flour (Maida)

1 tablespoon baking powder(mix into the flour)

4 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla esence

2 tablespoonfuls cocoa powder

Prep :

Eggs and sugar in a bowl. Beat together.

Add milk and oil. Beat again.

Add vanilla essence.

Add flour in batches. Beat lightly. If too thin add a bit more.

Halve the batter. In one add the 2 tablespoonfuls of cocoa powder.Mix.

Take your greased cake tin.

3 spoonfuls of white in the centre of the tin, followed by 3 spoonfuls of brown in the centre of the white. Don’t wait for lower layers to spread.

Alternate all the way. In the centre of the circle.

Always in the centre. Try not to be sloppy like me.

Till you finish all the batter.

Bake at 180degree C for 40 minutes in pre-heated oven.

Pull out. Cool on wire rack.

It does look like a volcano erupted.

Also has a little bit of zebra in it though.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Baking on Mother’s Day

    1. lol! that’s because I am a ‘jack of all trades and master of none’…I take up something with a gutso and then abandon it when i get bored….. which bothers me at times. Not that I let it affect me in any way. But of all my ‘trades’, cooking would have been the last one I would have expected you to comment on 🙂 Just shows. Thank you for visiting !!

      Like

  1. I agree with Justin … you are way to hard on yourself and you are an impressive cook. The food looks so good and beautiful and now I am so hungry.

    Oh and by the way women are truly the better half of the marriage not the lesser! Consider that … look at all you can do, I’ll bet your husband can not do all these things. We just make our men look good, but we are not lesser.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! i am glad you like my cooking.

      Lol! I was just married when I wrote that and I was being polite 😉
      But seriously, you see he actually is a kinder and more generous person than me, so its not exactly untrue….

      Like

Leave a Reply

