A Dance with Dragons – George R.R. Martin

I might have mentioned it before but it never hurts to be thorough, therefore I would like to mention my main criteria for choosing books nowadays are usually the following

a) Cost – the lesser the better

b) Thickness – the larger the better

c) Good Synopsis

d)Good reviews

‘Dance with Dragons’ was all of the above. And yet I was not satisfied. I have read long novels before but this one just felt like it dragged on forever and ever. Now in the spirit of honesty, I would like to state that I have not read any of the previous novels in this series, so it took sometime to get acquainted with the different characters and there were a bucket-load of those my friend. I couldn’t figure out who was related to whom and who was going where most of the time. Reading a book shouldn’t be so hard. I mean I have read other series from the middle before and they never gave me this much trouble.

Anyhow, the most off-putting thing for me about this novel was the amount of sheer cruelty and gore that I have never come across in a fantasy novel before – read Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, Brisinger and the Twilight series. The slaves and the prostitutes and the sadistic kings was all very dark for my taste.

If the title of the book were dependent on the sheer number of pages dedicated to the words in it then ‘The Dwarf Prince’ would have been a more apt name. The character of the Dwarf is one that looms large throughout the book and is most clearly etched. By simply reading this one book I could gather the history and the personal demons of this man. He is a cruel, scheming and vicious individual and yet the reader can almost sympathize with him. His journey to find the dragons and his interactions with all the characters he meets along the way make for an interesting read and a clear insight into his mind.

The dragons themselves form a handful of pages in the book with their main role reserved for the last few pages. Though they seem to be lurking in the background in most scenes dealing with the Queen and even the dwarf. So, if you were looking for dragons then this is not the book for you.

All in all, maybe if I had read the prequels before this novel I might have enjoyed it more. As it is this book almost felt like a waste of money.

Leave a Reply

