Manhattan Mango – Madhuri Iyer

This book was sent to me by Fingerprint Publishing in exchange of an honest review.

I was very appreciative and extremely honored that Fingerprint Publishing thought of sending me a copy of their book for review.

First, I thought the cover is really eye-catching and does complete justice to the story line. For example, I immediately know its a story about the friendship between boys, which is a completely different animal from that between girls, and is set in New York, the city of our dreams thanks to Sarah Jessica Parker and Karan Johar.

The book is extremely fast paced and my immediate thought was, ‘Who bought the movie rights?’ Essentially, the story revolves around three young men, for they are certainly no longer boys, who have been friends for years and now find themselves in the land of opportunity in the city that the world loves almost as much as Paris and Mumbai, although definitely for completely different reasons. It is a coming of age narrative in its simplest form. Neal is the most handsome, most extrovert and the apple of his gang’s eye, but I just wanted to give him a slap or two and tell him to grow up. He feels entitled to most things in his life, fawning females included. It is almost ludicrous to see how shocked he feels when he actually meets a few women who don’t immediately fall at his feet. It will be terrible if whoever directs the movie decides to give him maximum footage as the main hero of the book. Shanks is the quintessential South Indian guy, loves his mom, is serious about his job, wants to marry the first girl who smiles at him, and is loyal, responsible and honest to boot. And the idea of a staunch Tamil Brahmin marrying a Chinese woman is absolutely hilarious. I can almost feel the millions of South Indian readers cringe in sympathy when he falls for her in anticipation of the blood-(tear)-bath that will follow. And then comes Shri, the one with the dark secret (which is not very hard to guess) and the one who holds the group together with his down to earth attitude and yet needs some off-time for his own anxiety attacks. Then there is Shefali, the rich Gujju girl who joins the group and adds another angle of glamour to the gang. She turns out to be surprisingly intelligent and practical for a rich girl and I found myself rooting for her throughout the book.

This book definitely falls under the ‘Chick Lit’ category even though it is about men. It covers all the essential talking points for the new generation, marriage to a guy of your own community, job insecurity, peer pressure and the freedom of living in a completely uninhibited society. Although I wish at least one of them would have had an affair with an Indian; its a bit too rebellious for the entire group to reject the possibility of being with any Indian partners. It is a quick and fun read and, even if it feels a bit stilted and over-the-top at times to an oldie like me, I am sure most young people will simply love to gobble it up.

I saw the front page citation by non other than Sonam Kapoor and, to tell you the truth, I detest that spoilt brat so much that I almost did not read it. I am sure there are many who absolutely swoon over her, but I feel a recommendation by no one is any day better than one by her.

8 thoughts on “Manhattan Mango – Madhuri Iyer

  1. For a moment a lost and thought that I m seeing a movie. Very gud review. Interesting with gud examples and relevant details.

    Like

      1. lol! I mean I give credit to people who are over-achievers and thus given to boasting, but its hard to digest a narcissistic, over-opinionated, over-inflated ego of someone with zero talent.

        Like

Leave a Reply

