Musing Monday (26 Jan)

So, once again I will participate in the Musing Monday meme hosted by Should Be Reading and once again put up the books that I bought last week. But first, I wish every Indian around the world a very happy 66th Republic Day. It rained and it was cold but the Republic Day parade in Delhi went ahead without a hitch and the fly past by the Indian Air Force in near zero visibility made us swell with pride and happiness. Jai Hind!

PicMonkey Collage

This week again, I fell for the allure of these second hand books, found in an old man’s stash on the roadside. I have always loved Ken Follett and ‘A Dangerous Fortune’ was one book of his I hadn’t read. Tom Clancy’s Net Force is the hubby’s pick, but I like his works too – I just need to be in the mood for it.

Image1(BookCover)

Another request I received was for one of my favourite genres – Fantasy. It is a series called The Land of Dragor by Julia Suzuki and the first in the series is ‘The Gift of Charms‘. I was surprised and very chuffed to receive a request for reviewing this book and intend to get to it as soon as possible. From the few reviews that I have seen the book seems to be hitting all the right notes with fantasy readers everywhere. Can’t wait to dive into it.

As for the question about the books I read last year and would recommend to others, well, here are my picks.

1) Boats on Land by Janice Pariat – a collection of short stories full of nostalgia and ancient beliefs.

2) The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johanssen –  a fantasy that promises great things.

3) The Children Act by Ian McEwan – almost like an essay or dissertation on human failings in the face of best intentions.

4) Fade into Red by Reshman K. Barshikar – a chick-lit that was a fun read without being mind-numbingly cloying.

10 thoughts on “Musing Monday (26 Jan)

Leave a Reply

