Musing Mondays (9th February) and the January Random House Book-Bag

Two posts in one just shows how frugal we Indians can be – when it suits us.

So, this Musing Monday is about the books I received from Random House India this weekend. The security guy in my building was so chuffed to be finally able to present me with my parcel on Saturday evening before I asked him one more time whether ‘My Parcel had arrived?’.

The twitching eyelid has put a serious damper on my reading for the past 15 days. I am better now, but am determined to take it a bit slow for the next few days. Hubby keeps challenging me to try and stop reading, or listening, to books for a month! Hah!

IMG_20150209_151527

So the books I received are :

1) A Mirrored Life by Rabisankar Bal – Because I loved the cover and the name Ibn Batuta intrigued me.

2) Seahorse by Janice Pariat – Because I absolutely loved her short story collection last year and am crossing my fingers about this one.

As for the question that Miz B asks on her post today, I have to say its a bit of both! My husband and I met and got married because of a book (Gone with the Wind, but that’s a story for another day) and even though our reading choices seldom intersect, he does understand my love for books over jewellery and clothes. Also, one of my dearest and closest friends, with whom I initially became friends because someone told me she had a huge collection of books, reads a lot and thus is another confidante. But we now meet only in the summers when I go home and I miss her terribly. So, for the rest of the time, the internet provides me with the eclectic mix of bibliophiles just as crazy about books as me. I come to know about new authors from all of my internet buddies and have managed to increase my TBR list to gargantuan proportions.

10 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (9th February) and the January Random House Book-Bag

    1. I know what you mean by having a different kind of conversation with your internet friends. I think it may be because we are all so concentrated on books here without the distractions of everyday life and gossip as we would be with friends :). As for the hubby story – yes, it must be told one day 🙂

      Like

    1. But then we would again have had the exact same books!! God said’ get some variety girls’ 🙂 Lol, the hubby story should definitely come up one of these days 🙂 The eye is better. Thank you so much for asking 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

