Judging a Book by its Cover (Watercolor Series -1)

I have long wanted to experiment with my love for books and the recent serious dive into watercolor painting by combining the two. As some of you might have deduced a while ago, I love beautiful book covers, always have. As I am not imaginative/passionate/artistic enough to make my own, I decided to choose book covers that I have loved since I was a child and consequently the books that go with them to paint a watercolor series of the best book covers of my favourite books.

The list was long and really pretty book covers became fewer and far between as I moved towards the title for grown ups. Nobody seems to care that adults may also like a book with a really nice cover.

Here is the first in the series that I hope to complete in the near future.

IMG_20150318_064401511

Enid Blyton was a childhood favourite for many many years and I must confess that I read her name as ‘Gnid Blyton’ for a few of them. Those books were expensive for those times and convincing mom to let me buy one was always an uphill task. Why I didn’t just ask Dad? Well, because that wouldn’t have been cricket then. I did ask him at times when I was feeling really desperate and always chose those 3-in-1’s in the hopes of making them last longer. Also, I made him write on the flyleaf that he had gifted the book to me or else Mum would have the brilliant idea to gift it to someone else on their birthdays!!

IMG_20150318_064408416

Six Cousins at Mistletoe Farm and its sequel were two of my favourite Enid Blyton books, both for the storylines and the beautiful covers from Armada Paperbacks , which were an offshoot of William Collins, Sons, now known as Harper Collins, of both the books that I managed to get. Would you believe that the book covers are unaccredited, meaning we don’t know whose work they were!

PicMonkey Collage

These covers were a one time fluke (published in 1987) and finding them again is an impossible task. One of my books is torn and lost for all practical purposes, while the other one is safe in my brother’s keeping or so he informed me during one of his cryptic phone calls a few weeks ago.

PicMonkey Collage

My lovable brother has taken over my collection of childhood books and refuses to part with them. I can’t really blame him, I didn’t share my books either and it is nice to see he gets something from me. We both read all the time, and especially when we are eating food which manages to annoy everybody around us. You can’t imagine how difficult it is for me to sit at the table and make small conversation just to be polite when guests come over. My brother doesn’t even try.

IMG_20150318_064702394

Almost every book that I possess has a story attached to it, apart from the one between the covers. They may not be bestsellers (my stories that is) but I remember them every time I pick up a particular book and smile at the memory. I truly thank everyone who has ever indulged my love of books, from my mother who told me my first story, to Dad who smiled whenever he bought me a book, to my special friends who understood that books were my first love and to a husband who likes to crib about my reading but has managed to buy me a few hundred books since we got married. Thank you all.

As always, in the spirit of honesty, I am not very good with angles of the head and am atrocious with hands and those are pretty evident from the work. Maybe a little touching up is required, but I am still proud of the this one, flawed as it is.

14 thoughts on “Judging a Book by its Cover (Watercolor Series -1)

  1. That’s a really lovely cover you have redrawn. You are really super-talented 🙂 . Also, I thought I was the only person who loved to eat and read at the same time, great to know there are others as well 🙂

    Like

  2. Flawed? Girl, are you serious? I thought that the first picture in the post was an enlarged version of the book cover, till I saw the brown tape around the edges! It is gorgeous!! Way to go. Thanks to you, I will take another look at the Enid Blyton books I have in my safekeeping. Have you tried the sketches in the Famous Five books?

    Like

    1. Hullo Hullo! Thank you so much. Flawed because it needs a little bit of shading to give it more depth – on the house, the cheekbones, the stones in the yard. I went through a lot of my favourite Enid Blyton books before I realized none of them topped this one for me. Famous five are great too of course but my second choice was the 3-in-1 ‘Adventure’ series book my Dad had bought for me when we were in Jabalpur. 🙂 My next project awaits on my board for almost a month now and I am unable to get into the ‘flow’ for it 🙂 Its another childhood classic. Wait for it – hopefully not more than 2-3 months 😉

      Like

      1. Hello to you too. Ah, that would explain it!!
        The Famous Five booked had sketches with no colour, but beautifully illustrated. We had our Dad to thank for all the books we have as well.
        Looking forward to the completion of your next project! Hope you get into the “flow” soon.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

