Musing Mondays (May 25)

Musing Mondays is a meme over at the blog called A Daily Rhythm by Jenn, which has a whole lot of options regarding your bookish activities during the previous and coming up week and are as follows :

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

MusingMondays-ADailyRhythm

 

My Monday begins before Monday in the US and so I usually have my post up here before she has hers. In each post she asks a random book-related question, which is always fun to think about and answer. The question last week was right up my alley and so I will answer that now and then in the evening answer the one that she asks for this week too (hopefully).

Q – What types of “special” books do you own? For example, do you have any really old books? Any collections based on your interests (eg. architecture, etc)?

A – I am quite proud of the illustrated books that I have started to collect, apart from the illustrated Russian folk tales that I had as a child, which are now out of print. I have a Calla edition of the Grimm’s Fairy Tales. Also, I recently acquired The Art of Dreamworks Animation and love it too. Expensive, but oh so pretty.

This week I received a box set from the wonderful folks over at  Bloomsbury and absolutely love it. I finished one book from the set of three and am currently reading The Hanging by Lotte and Soren Hammer.

 1) Before We Met by Lucie Whitehouse

The blurb according to Goodreads

Hannah, independent, headstrong, and determined not to follow in the footsteps of her bitterly divorced mother, has always avoided commitment. But one hot New York summer she meets Mark Reilly, a fellow Brit, and is swept up in a love affair that changes all her ideas about what marriage might mean.

Now, living in their elegant, expensive London townhouse and adored by her fantastically successful husband, she knows she was right to let down her guard.

But when Mark does not return from a business trip to the U.S. and when the hours of waiting for him stretch into days, the foundations of Hannah’s certainty begin to crack. Why do Mark’s colleagues believe he has gone to Paris not America? Why is there no record of him at his hotel? And who is the mysterious woman who has been telephoning him over the last few weeks?

Hannah begins to dig into her husband’s life, uncovering revelations that throw into doubt everything she has ever believed about him. As her investigation leads her away from their fairytale romance into a place of violence and fear she must decide whether the secrets Mark has been keeping are designed to protect him or protect her . . .

2) The Hanging by Lotte and Soren Hammer

The blurb according to Amazon

One morning before school, two children find the naked bodies of five men hanging from the gym ceiling. The case leads detective Konrad Simonsen and his murder squad to the school janitor, who may know more about the killings than he is telling. Soon, Simonsen realizes that each of the five murdered men had a dark and terrible secret in common. And when Simonsen’s own daughter is targeted, he must race to find the culprit before his whole world is destroyed.

3) The Ghost Runner by Parker Bilal

The blurb according to Goodreads

It is 2002 and as tanks roll into the West Bank and the reverberations of 9/11 echo across the globe, tensions are running high on Cairo’s streets.

Private Investigator Makana, in exile from his native Sudan and increasingly haunted by memories of his wife and daughter, is shaken out of his despondency when a routine surveillance job leads him to the horrific murder of a teenage girl. In a country where honor killings are commonplace and the authorities seem all too eager to turn a blind eye, Makana determines to track down the perpetrator. He finds unexpected assistance in the shape of Azza, a woman who seems to share Makana’s hunger for justice.

Seeking answers in the dead girl’s past he travels to Siwa, an oasis town on the edge of the great Sahara Desert, where the law seems disturbingly far away and old grievances simmer just below the surface. As violence follows him through the twisting, sandblown streets and an old enemy lurks in the shadows, Makana discovers that the truth can be as deadly and as changeable as the desert beneath his feet.

All of these are new authors for me and I am enjoying myself immensely. Reviews to follow as soon as possible.

7:45 p.m. – Jenn’s blog post for today is up and as usual she has managed to ask a question that has set me thinking hard.

Q – Where is the strangest place you’ve ever read a book? OR… Where is the strangest place you’ve ever found a crazy-good book, unexpectedly?

A – The strangest place where I found a really good book was when I visited my Husband’s home for the first time on marriage and was going through the collection of books at his home. Its a family of doctors and there are huge medical tomes all over the house. My husband and father-in-law read thrillers and non-fiction only and so imagine my surprise then to find Georgette Heyer’s Toll Gate, a second hand copy, with an inscription. If you knew the family, you would understand my shock to find a romance novel in that house.

4 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (May 25)

Leave a Reply

