Musing Mondays (June 29)

Musing Mondays is a meme over at the blog called A Daily Rhythm by Jenn, which has a whole lot of options regarding your bookish activities during the previous and coming up week and are as follows :

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week

 

So, I am currently reading Outlaws by Javier Cercas.

Up next I think I will read Kidnap in Crete by Rick Stroud.

I received both these books last week from Bloomsbury India.

1) Outlaws – Javier Cercas (Courtesy : Bloomsbury, India)

9781408844205_200

On a summer day at the arcade, timid sixteen-year-old Ignacio Cañas encounters two charismatic rebels: El Zarco (“Blue Eyes”) and his gorgeous girl, Tere. Entranced, he crosses the border into their dangerous world, becoming their partner in crimes that quickly escalate. Twenty-five years later, Tere materializes in Cañas’s office, needing help. Cañas has settled back into middle-class life, becoming a successful defense lawyer. Zarco has matured into a convict of some infamy. Yet somehow, with new stakes, this three-way affair will begin again.

2) Kidnap in Crete – Rick Stroud (Courtesy : Bloomsbury, India)

This is the story of how a small SOE unit led by Patrick Leigh Fermor kidnapped a German general on the Nazi-occupied island of Crete in 1944. For thirty-two days, they were chased across the mountains as they headed for the coast and a rendezvous with a Royal Navy launch waiting to spirit the general to Cairo.

There have been other accounts, but Kidnap in Crete is the first book to draw on all the sources, notably those in Crete as well as SOE files and the accounts, letters, and private papers of its operatives in London and Edinburgh.

I am not sure about the second one since I am not a fan of non-fiction, but fingers crossed.

Random Question : Are waterproof book a good idea?

Answer : In my last house there was no place to keep my books. So, I very artistically stacked them on the floor. The next week the kitchen tap flooded the whole apartment and soaked some of my favourite books. On that particular day, I might have said yes. Never happened before that, never happened since! So, now I am alright and think it will be a bit much.

5 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (June 29)

Leave a Reply

