Mailbox Monday (11th July)

Received my box of goodies from the wonderful folks at Penguin Random House India just when I was beginning to feel they had forgotten about me. They sent the parcel through IndiaPost as usual and our seemingly grumpy ( or so I always thought) local postman came over on a rainy Sunday evening to give it to me while on his way to the market with his family just because my home fell en route. That was so sweet and just goes to show that one must never judge a book by its cover.

Mailbox Monday is a meme started by Marcia at To Be Continued. As also previously mentioned, I am shamelessly posting my Mailbox Mondays on any day of the week by playing the “New Mom” card. So, here it is, my Mailbox Monday on Tuesday -only a day late this time, so be nice people.

IMG_20160710_182418.jpg

1) Pyre (Perumal Murugan)

According to the Goodreads blurb –

Saroja and Kumaresan are in love. After a hasty wedding, they arrive in Kumaresan’s village, harbouring the dangerous secret that their marriage is an inter-caste one, likely to anger the villagers should they learn of it. Kumaresan is confident that all will be well. He naively believes that after the initial round of curious questions, the inquiries will die down and the couple will be left alone. But nothing is further from the truth. The villagers strongly suspect that Saroja must belong to a different caste. It is only a matter of time before their suspicions harden into certainty and, outraged, they set about exacting their revenge.

With spare, powerful prose, Murugan masterfully conjures a terrifying vision of intolerance in this devastating tale of innocent young love pitted against chilling savagery

2) Fool Me Once (Harlen Coben)

According to  the Goodreads blurb –

Former special ops pilot Maya, home from the war, sees an unthinkable image captured by her nanny cam while she is at work: her two-year-old daughter playing with Maya’s husband, Joe—who had been brutally murdered two weeks earlier. The provocative question at the heart of the mystery: Can you believe everything you see with your own eyes, even when you desperately want to? To find the answer, Maya must finally come to terms with deep secrets and deceit in her own past before she can face the unbelievable truth about her husband—and herself.

3) Hedon (Priyanka)

According to the Goodreads burb –

‘This was always going to happen. ’

Tara Mullick falls in love with Jay Dhillon at first encounter. Her pull toward the older, brilliant billionaire is an unyielding force that carries her through Catholic school in Kolkata to four years of recklessness at college in the American Midwest. Things come to a head upon Tara’s return to India. She comes face-to-face with the socially oppressive realities of her world, and then, six years after their initial meeting—with Jay himself.

Edgy and compelling, Hedon is a stunning debut novel that explores the vagaries of love and heartache, and what it means to not know where you belong.

Happy Reading Everyone!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday (11th July)

  1. Greetings, my dear Malvika! I’m glad the grumpy postman has decided to reform. No, you can’t tell a book by its cover, and you can’t necessarily tell a postman by the scowl on his face… : )

    Sounds like you’ve got a lot of reviews to write. Well, if I know you, you’ll be making short work of it. FWIW: Wanted to pass something along. I just read a post that made me think of you. Thought it might be of interest. Here’s the link:

    http://contently.net/2016/07/26/resources/3-ways-actually-get-paid-write-books/

    May I assume the tiny new person is already reading at the college level?? Hope you’re all doing well! : )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Mark,
      I have a strong sense that this was a one-off gesture for the postman, very unlikely to be repeated since I did not invite him in for tea – social lapse- which my Nanu (Grandpa) always used to do.
      And yes, I have so many reviews I feel overwhelmed. Was using my Uncle’s laptop, since Hubby took mine over since his brand new one went kaput, and it was so excruciatingly slow even to open a word document, I kept losing all patience with it. I mean the first day I opened Word, because I thought it would be faster to copy paste, typed two lines and looked up to see a blank screen. Moved the cursor around to see what was happening when the words started appearing one alphabet at a time at the rate of 1-Mississippi, 2 – Mississippi!!!
      Thanks for that link. I see a lot of my friends on the blogs doing exactly this and it makes sense only I see you need a certain amount of discipline for this. At least 3-4 posts a week. 😦 Need to think about this seriously though so I can tell dad I am doing something serious since he has taken to suggesting that I join Phd classes to occupy myself and expand my mind! That takes 5 years, you know! And that is if you have a good advisor.
      TNP is busy being cute. 🙂 She is doing good and so is her Mom 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

